Northwest Indiana companies honored for safety excellence

2019 safety awards banquet
safety awards nwi 2019

More than 600 people from more than 100 of the region’s leading companies gathered together May 10 at the CAF/NWIBRT Construction Awards Banquet to celebrate achievements in construction safety and excellence throughout area projects.

The event was held in partnership between the Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable (NWIBRT), which gives awards for safety performance, and the Construction Advancement Foundation (CAF), which gives awards for project and contractor excellence.

The safety awards half of the evening recognizes the people and companies that demonstrate outstanding capabilities and standards when it comes to reducing or eliminating hazards across a wide range of construction projects and settings.

“The awards presented at tonight’s event go beyond just the most recent year’s safety performance to look at how companies have improved their programs over time. We get to see great examples of growth and refinements made to jobsite activities,” said Don Bull, NWIBRT executive committee chairman and NIPSCO director of outage management and systems engineering.

The CAF’s portion of the evening focused on the achievements of area builders across their unique projects and their overall performances within their individual specialties.

“The companies who are receiving awards at this year’s event have demonstrated repeatedly they’re not content with average. They’re working together as peers to be the best, safest, and strongest industry possible,” said Dewey Pearman, executive director of the CAF.

The 2019 list of CAF/NWIBRT award winners is:

2019 NWIBRT Award Winners (awards are for the year 2018)

Contractor of the Year: Solid Platforms, Inc.

Company of the Year: Ambitech Engineering Corporation

Owner Excellence in Leadership: NIPSCO, Cargill

Excellence Award: Airgas On-Site Safety Services, Ambitech Engineering Corporation
Amex Nooter, LLC, ATC Group Services LLC., Barton Malow Company,Cannon Sline Industrial, Inc., CATSI, Inc., Central Rent A Crane, Construction & Turnaround Services, LLC, Cornerstone Electrical Consultants, Inc., EMCOR Hyre Electric, Fluor Constructors International, Hasse Construction Company, Inc., Imperial Crane Services, Inc., Interstate Environmental Services, Inc., Job-Site Safety, LTD, Matrix North American Construction, Middough Inc., N.A. Logan, Inc., Nooter Construction, Inc., Orbital Engineering, Inc., R. J. Mycka, Inc., Solid Platforms, Inc., The Ross Group, Inc., Total Safety U.S., Inc. and Valdes Engineering Company.

Achievement Award: BMWC Constructors, Inc., KM Plant Services, Inc., Luse Thermal Technologies

Recognition Award: ACMS Group, Inc., AMS Mechanical Systems, Inc., Brock Industrial Services, LLC, Continental Electric Company, Graycor Industrial Constructors Inc., Hayes Mechanical, LLC., Korellis Roofing, Inc., Larson-Danielson Construction, Inc., M&O Environmental, M. J. Electric, LLC., Meade Industries, Inc., Mersino Dewatering, Inc, Morrison Construction Company, Rieth-Riley Construction Co., Inc., Sargent Electric Company, Stevenson Crane Service, Inc., Superior Construction Company, Inc., Tonn and Blank Construction, Tranco Industrial Services, Inc. and Walsh & Kelly, Inc.

Innovation Award: KM Plant Services, Solid Platforms, Inc. and Orbital Engineering

Roger Walters Award: George Moisoff, Ambitech Engineering Corporation

Lifesaver Award: Ryan Leckrone, Sargent Electric Company;  Tom Sullivan, Job-Site Safety, LTD.

2019 CAF Construction Award winners

Industrial-Capital Project of the Year: Graycor Industrial Constructors, Inc.,, Coal Combustion Residuals (CCR) Project/NIPSCO

Commercial Project of the Year: Tonn and Blank Construction, LLC, Franciscan Health Michigan City/Franciscan Alliance

Public Works Project of the Year: Superior Construction Co., Inc., US 52 Bridge over the Wabash River/INDOT

Excellence in Professional Development: Superior Construction Co., Inc.

2018 Outstanding Apprentice: Connor Leto, Ironworkers Local 395

Commercial Contractor of the Year: Tonn and Blank Construction, LLC

Industrial Contractor of the Year: Hasse Construction Co., Inc.

Professional and Engineering Services Contractor of the Year: DLZ Industrial, LLC

Highway Contractor of the Year: Rieth-Riley Construction Co., Inc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.